Ten Principles of Neural Somatic Integration® (NSI)​

 
 
 

1. The Body as a Portal

The physical body “carries”(stores) ALL our experience (from trauma to pleasure) in neuronal fabric circuitry and/or chemical functionality and physical functionality and structure. This makes the physical body a portal for healing and trauma relief.


2. Stress Responses Lead to Pathology

Chronic distress (pain) --- physical, mental/emotional that is not “organic” in its origins (i.e., the result of disease or accident) is the result of a defensive physiognomic response to past experienced or anticipated threat or pain. Called “stress,” these responses, while originally intended to preserve or protect (e.g., signals to the organism to either flee, freeze or fight), when persisted in after the perceived threat has passed, create pathology.​


​​3. Discharge

Release of these no---longer functional responses results in “discharge” (an electrical term that is applied to what the body/mind experiences when released from constrained or restrictive constructs.) Discharge is a pleasurable experience, even exhilarating: energy that has been “cooped up” in neuro---circuitry is now free to move, flow, and be available for creative and productive and pleasurable experiences.

 

4. The Role of Cognition

Psychotherapy (including all forms of psychological intervention) seeks to obtain this release through cognition – through analysis, synthesis, “understanding” (and accepting and/or changing) the historical causality that resulted in the pathology. Beyond simple “understanding,” however, effective psychotherapy provides a compensatory emotional container in which the mind/body can “let go” of what it no longer needs to protect itself and discharge the related neural energy that has been devoted to holding the complex of beliefs, emotional triggers, and corresponding physical configurations in place. Talk therapy has begun to acknowledge the role of the body in healing psychological trauma and neuroses. The work of Gene Gendling and his introduction of the concept of a “felt sense” present IN THE BODY as a key to effective therapy is an outstanding example.


5. The Evolution of Body Work


Bodywork has also “evolved” very quickly in recent years (or perhaps rediscovered what it was originally) from addressing only the physical manifestations of a distress complex (i.e., the gross anatomy of muscle, ligament, tendon, lymph gland, and physical symptoms of restricted motion, cramping, etc.). Pioneers such as Feldenchrais, Trager, Alexander, Rosen, Ida Rolf, etc. developed methods to address the underlying patterns of body dysfunction. The work of Peter Levine on trauma release processes is particularly relevant to this discussion.


​6. Neural Causality


Neural Somatic Integration® (NSI) is a continuation of the process of addressing the underlying neural and biological patterns that are the proximate cause of a given distress pattern. Proximate, because it is the cause that is present in the organism, be it in an unconscious or conscious way – a memory, a body structure/posture, a feeling, or a pain symptom. The historical cause of a distress complex is not present. Only the residue of the organism’s response to the distressing input remains in “flesh and blood” including the entire network of neuro---biologic circuitry.
 

​7. NSI Brings Release from the Past


NSI® offers opportunities for the client to heal himself by bringing attention to the pathologies and distress complexes that the practitioner “senses” through visual observation, touch, and/or verbal and physical feedback. The practitioner does not presume to know “how” to heal the client. He places faith in the client to heal himself, yielding to the extraordinarily complex self--- healing and self---regulating mechanisms of the autonomic nervous systems. The practitioner’s role is to be a “living feedback mechanism” to the client of what he senses about the client’s physical condition and to encourage the client to shut down pathologic psycho--- physical protocols and allow itself to function “naturally and organically” (i.e., without a pathologic syndrome interfering with health and life). The practitioner “senses” through visual observation, touch, and/or verbal feedback. The practitioner does not presume to know “how” to heal the client. He places faith in the client to heal himself, yielding to the extraordinarily complex self---healing and self---regulating mechanisms of the autonomic, nervous system. The effect is to allow the client to “breath” naturally, to feel itself, to release what has been held onto out of a reflex of fear of continued or repeated wounding. The client is shown that the historical cause of the distress reaction is no longer operative; or, if it is, it must be shown that options for “escape” or change or alternative responses are available. NSI’s message to the body is: You no longer need to hold on to this or that defensive complex which may have once provided you with security or even enabled you to survive and was a perfectly “natural” response to the trauma that was experienced --- but which is now killing you, or at least restricting your ability to experience your body, your mind, your feelings (i.e.., your life) in the present, and is limiting your access to the positive states of joy, peace, love, hope, courage tranquility and courage.


8. Body Worker As Listener and Observer


The body worker who employs NSI will not follow any regime of massage or manipulation, even those of ancient tradition (e.g., reflexology, acupressure, etc.) Rather, he/she will “listen” to the client as it speaks through gesture, facial expressions, voice tones, muscle tension, pain sites, posture, responsive imagery, recollection, etc. He/she will observe in a neutral, loving, safe way and a non---judgmental fashion what is really there in the client, reflect this back through feedback, verbal and tactile, to the client, and offer the client the opportunity to release, discharge, and heal. The practitioner cannot “force” this release. He/she cannot force the client to “let go” of a long---standing neural defense/distress structure. Such pressure will inevitable be greeted by the client as a further attack or stress and it will respond with a reinforcement of the very distress complex the practitioner is seeking to relieve.

9. Trust and Safety


Only when there is a free and safe interchange between practitioner and client will healing occur. Trust is necessary for any healing relationship. Without it, the client remains “on guard” against further distress, thereby strengthening the neural circuitry one is attempting to “unplug” and release into life giving, health producing somatic neurology.


10. Course of Treatment​

Given the historical duration or intensity of most trauma or distress patterns the kind of Neural Somatic Integration® we are seeking will not likely occur quickly. It is possible that one could expect to spend a year in weekly NSI work for every decade of life in order to work through the various distress complexes one might have, though this of course will vary from client to client. However; at a certain point, it will become possible for the subject to become his/her own healing practitioner. NSI is not simply a “therapeutic” process; it is an educational one, and clients can become attuned to their own body/mind in a new and healing way, and begin to self regulate using strategies learned in formal NSI sessions.​ In this sense, the healing process is life long. Resolving old traumas and distress symptoms does not ensure that the client will not suffer new traumas or distress. However, once the dynamic and creative process of NSI has been internalized, the client will have tools to respond to contemporary distresses in ways that will minimize the establishment of defensive complexes or relieve quickly those which occur.​

Click here to read the Ten Principles of Neural Somatic Integration (NSI)

 

  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • download
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

                                                                          Content copyright 2018. Neural Somatic Integration® (NSI). All rights reserved. Impressum & Datenschutzerklärung

Die 10 Prinzipien der Neural Somatic Integration® (NSI)

​1. Zugang über den Körper​

 

Der physische Körper „trägt“ (speichert) unsere GESAMTE Erfahrung (von Traumen bis zu Erfahrungen des Wohlbefindens) in neuronalen Schaltkreisen und / oder in Form von chemischen und körperlichen Funktionen und Strukturen. Der physische Körper kann damit einen Zugang zu Regulation und Selbstannahme schaffen.


2. Stressantworten führen zu hinderlichen Zuständen

 

Chronische Belastungen – physisch, mental, emotional – die in ihren Ursprüngen nicht organisch sind (das heißt, Resultat einer Krankheit oder eines Unfalls), sind das Ergebnis einer defensiven Antwort auf eine vergangene oder befürchtete Bedrohung oder einen Schmerz. Diese Antwort - auch Stress genannt – läuft in Form von Signalen an den Organismus ab, zu kämpfen, zu fliehen oder zu erstarren. Ursprünglich zielte sie darauf ab, etwas zu bewahren oder zu schützen. Wenn an der Antwort jedoch festgehalten wird, obwohl die Bedrohung vorbei ist, erzeugt sie einen sich wiederholenden Zustand. In NSI geht es insbesondere um die Nutzung dieser Landkarte, um den eigenen, immer heil gebliebenen inneren Kern wieder anzapfen zu können


3. Entladung

 

Das Loslassen dieser nun nicht mehr funktionalen Reaktionen führt zu einer „Entladung“ (ein Ausdruck aus der Elektronik, der hier beschreibt, was der Körper/Verstand erfährt, wenn er von einschränkenden oder restriktiven Konstrukten befreit wird). Die Entladung ist eine angenehme, wenn nicht sogar erhebende Erfahrung: Energie, die in neuronalen Schaltkreisen gefangen war, kann sich nun bewegen und frei fließen. Sie steht nun wieder für kreative, produktive und schöne Erfahrungen zur Verfügung.

 


4. Die Bedeutung der Kognition


Psychotherapie (mit all ihren Formen psychologischer Intervention) sucht diese Lösung durch Kognition zu erreichen - durch Analyse, Synthese und „Verständnis“ (akzeptieren und/oder ändern) der historischen Ursache, die zu einem Krankheitsbild führte. Über das einfache „Verständnis“ hinaus stellt effektive Psychotherapie einen kompensatorischen emotionalen Raum zur Verfügung, in dem Körper und Verstand „loslassen“ können, was sie nicht länger brauchen, um sich selbst zu schützen. Die damit verbundene neuronale Energie, die den Komplex aus Glaubenssätzen, emotionalen Auslösern („Triggern“), und entsprechenden physischen Konfigurationen aufrecht erhalten hat, kann freigesetzt werden. Die Gesprächstherapie hat begonnen, die Rolle des Körpers für die Heilung psychologischer Traumen und Neurosen anzuerkennen. Hier liefert die Arbeit von Gene Gendlin und seine Einführung des Konzepts eines IM KÖRPER anwesenden felt sense”* bahnbrechende Erkenntnisse für eine effektive Therapie.

 

* Der Begriff “felt sense“ kann mit „ganzheitlich innerem Empfinden“ übersetzt werden. „Felt sense“ bezeichnet das körperlich fühlbare, bedeutungshaltige, direkte Erleben einer Situation, Interaktion, eines Themas oder eines Problems.


5. Die Entwicklung der Körperarbeit


Körperarbeit hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren rasant weiterentwickelt (vielleicht wurde auch nur wiederentdeckt, was Körperarbeit ursprünglich war) – weg von der reinen Behandlung der physischen Manifestationen eines Schmerzkomplexes (d.h. die „grobe“ Anatomie von Muskeln, Bändern, Sehnen, Lymphknoten und physischen Symptomen wie eingeschränkter Bewegung, Krämpfe, etc.). Pioniere wie Feldenkrais, Trager, Alexander, Rosen, Gendlin und Andere entwickelten Methoden, um tiefer liegende Muster von Fehlfunktionen anzusprechen.

6. Neuronale Kausalität


Neural Somatic Integration® (NSI) ist die Weiterführung eines Ansatzes, neuronale und spirituelle Muster als unmittelbare Ursache für ein vorhandenes Stressmuster zu adressieren. Unmittelbar deshalb, weil die Ursache im Organismus bewusst oder unbewusst als Erinnerung, in einer Körperstruktur oder-haltung, einem Gefühl oder einem Symptom präsent ist. Der historisch bedingte Auslöser der Belastung ist nicht mehr gegenwärtig. Nur die “Rückstände“ der Antwort des Organismus auf den schmerzhaften Auslöser bleiben in “Fleisch und Blut“, ebenso wie die kompletten neurobiologischen Schaltkreise.



7. NSI: Erlösung von der Vergangenheit


NSI bietet dem Klienten die Möglichkeit, sich selbst zu heilen, indem die Aufmerksamkeit auf die Zustände und Komplexe gelenkt wird, die der Practitioner durch Beobachtung, Berührung und/oder mündliche und physische Rückmeldung wahrnimmt. Der Practitioner geht nicht davon aus, dass er weiß, wie der Organismus geheilt werden kann. Er vertraut darauf, dass der Klient sich selbst heilen kann, und überlässt die Führung den außergewöhnlichen und komplexen Selbstheilungs- und Selbstregulierungsmechanismen des autonomen Nervensystems, sowie den biologischen und neurologischen Systemen. Die Rolle des Practitioners ist es hierbei, ein „lebendiges Feedback-Instrument“ zu sein, indem er den Körperzustand seines Klienten wahrnimmt und ihn ermutigt, pathologische psycho-physiologische Vorgänge abzuschalten und sich zu erlauben, wieder auf „natürliche Weise“ zu funktionieren (d. h. ohne ein pathologisches Syndrom, das die Gesundheit und das Leben beeinflusst). Die Wirkung stellt sich ein, wenn der Klient beginnt, natürlich zu atmen, sich selbst zu fühlen und alles loszulassen, was aus einem Reflex der Angst oder fortwährender bzw. wiederkehrender Verwundung festgehalten wurde.  Die Botschaft von NSI an den Körper ist: du brauchst nicht länger an diesem defensiven Komplex festhalten, der früher Sicherheit gegeben hat oder der sogar dein Überleben gesichert hat. Auch wenn deine Reaktion zum Zeitpunkt der verwirrenden Situation eine vollkommen “natürliche“ Reaktion war, bringt sie dich jetzt aber um, oder schränkt zumindest deine Möglichkeiten ein, deinen Körper, deinen Verstand und deine Gefühle (d.h. dein Leben) in der Gegenwart voll zu erleben. Sie blockiert deinen Zugang zu positiven Zuständen wie Freude, Frieden, Liebe, Hoffnung, Ruhe und Mut.


8. Der Practitioner als Zuhörer und Beobachter



Der NSI-Practitioner folgt keinem festgelegten Massage- oder Behandlungsablauf, auch nicht einem, der auf alten Traditionen beruht (wie z. B. Reflexologie, Akupressur, usw.). Stattdessen „hört“ er dem Klienten zu, wie dieser durch Gesten, Stimme, Muskelanspannung, schmerzhafte Stellen, Körperhaltungen, Bilder oder Erinnerungen, etc. zu ihm spricht. Der Practictoner wird auf neutrale, liebevolle und nicht beurteilende Weise beobachten, was tatsächlich im Klienten vor sich geht und verbal oder durch Berührung Rückmeldung geben. Auf diese Weise bietet er ihm die Gelegenheit, loszulassen, Spannung zu entladen und sich zu regulieren. Der Practitioner kann diese Entladung nicht herbeiführen. Er kann den Klienten nicht dazu drängen, eine lang bestehende Abwehr- und Belastungshaltung aufzugeben. Übt der Practitioner hier Druck aus, wird der Klient diesen Druck unausweichlich als einen erneuten Angriff oder Stressfaktor erleben und mit einer Verstärkung von genau diesem Komplex reagieren, den der Practitioner aufzulösen versucht.


9. Vertrauen und Sicherheit


Nur wenn die Beziehung zwischen NSI-Practitioner und Klient auf Freiheit und Sicherheit gründet, wird Befreiung geschehen. Vertrauen ist die Grundvoraussetzung für jede Art von Beziehung. Ohne Vertrauen ist der Organismus „auf der Hut“ vor erneuter Verletzung: man verstärkt so das defensive Verhalten, das man eigentlich versucht zu „unterbrechen“, um ihn in eine verbindende innere Haltung zu überführen.


10. Der Verlauf der Sessions


Wie schnell neurale somatische Integration eintritt, hängt von vielen Faktoren ab, u.a. von der historischen Dauer oder Intensität des Komplexes, die der Klient erfahren hat, sowie dem Ausmaß der Verteidigungsmuster, die der Klient entwickelt hat, um damit umgehen zu können.  Allerdings ist es von Anfang an die Intention, dem Klieneten zu zeigen, dass NUR er selbst die entscheidenenden Verbesserungen im Leben kreiert und zugelassen hat.  NSI ist ein Lernprozess, in dem die Klienten sich ihrer eigenen Körper-/Verstand-Symptomatik bewusst werden und anfangen, die selbstregulierenden Mechanismen anzuwenden, die sie in den ​​​NSI-Sitzungenerlernt haben. In diesem Sinne ist Selbstheilung ein lebenslanger Prozess.

Die 10 Prinzipien von Neural Somatic Integration (NSI)

 

  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • download
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

                                                                          Content copyright 2018. Neural Somatic Integration® (NSI). All rights reserved. Impressum & Datenschutzerklärung